BLS, ACLS, PALS, First-aid, And CPR Classes

cpr renewal class

ACLS vs BLS: Which Certification is Right for You?

If you are looking for a healthcare career, then you may be wondering which type of certification is right for you. There are many different options to choose from, but two of the most common certifications are ACLS and BLS. So, what is the difference between these two certifications? In this blog post, we will discuss the key differences between ACLS and BLS so that you can make an informed decision about which certification is right for you!

ACLS Certification

What is ACLS Certification?

ACLS certification stands for Advanced Cardiac Life Support. ACLS certification is a process in which healthcare workers learn how to identify and treat life-threatening cardiovascular problems. Healthcare workers who are certified in ACLS can provide care in a wide range of emergency situations, including heart attacks, strokes, and cardiac arrest. 

Why is ACLS Certification Important? 

ACLS certification is important for many reasons. First and foremost, it allows healthcare providers to save lives in emergencies. Secondly, it gives healthcare providers the confidence they need to know that they are prepared to handle any situation that comes their way. Finally, ACLS certification is often required by employers to be eligible for certain positions. 

How Do I Get Started?

If you’re interested in getting ACLS certified, the best place to start is by doing some research online. Several accredited online courses will allow you to obtain your certification from the comfort of your own home. Once you’ve found a course that looks like a good fit for you, all you need to do is sign up and complete the required training. 

BLS Certification

What is BLS Certification?

BLS certification is short for Basic Life Support certification. BLS certification is geared towards healthcare professionals who want to provide basic life support care for patients. BLS-certified healthcare providers can assess and manage a patient’s airway, breathing, and circulation. BLS certification also covers a variety of other topics such as CPR chest compressions, AED use, and relief of choking.

Why is BLS Certification Important? 

BLS certification is important for healthcare workers because it can help them save lives. BLS certification gives healthcare providers the confidence they need to know that they are prepared to handle any situation.

According to the AHA, more than 356,000 out-of-hospital cardiac arrests occur each year in the United States. When someone suffering from a cardiac arrest receives prompt CPR from a bystander, their chances of survival increase by as much as 40%. 

In addition to saving lives, having BLS certification can also benefit healthcare workers in other ways. For example, many hospitals require their employees to be BLS certified. In some states, BLS certification may also be required for licensure or registration. 

How Do I Get Started?

If you are interested in becoming BLS certified, the first step is to find an accredited course. Safety Training Seminars offers a variety of courses that are available online and in-person. Once you have completed a course, you will need to pass a written exam to receive your certification.

Are you looking for a way to get certified in ACLS or BLS?

Safety Training Seminars offers both ACLS and BLS certification courses. Our courses are taught by experienced professionals, and we offer a variety of scheduling options to fit your needs.

Getting certified through Safety Training Seminars will give you the knowledge and confidence you need to provide lifesaving care in an emergency. We offer a money-back satisfaction guarantee, so you can be sure that our courses are the best possible investment for your career.

Register for an ACLS or BLS certification course today!

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need BLS if I have ACLS?

No, you do not need BLS if you have ACLS. However, having both certifications will make you a more well-rounded healthcare provider and may improve your employment prospects.

How long is my certification valid?

Your ACLS or BLS certification is valid for two years. After two years, you will need to retake the course and pass the exam again to maintain your certification.

What happens if I let my certification expire?

If you let your certification expire, you will need to retake the entire course. We recommend taking a refresher course even if your certification is still valid to make sure that you are up-to-date on the latest guidelines.

What is the difference between AHA and ASHI courses?

The American Heart Association (AHA) and American Safety & Health Institute (ASHI) are two of the most popular certifications for ACLS and BLS. The biggest difference between these two organizations is that the AHA requires a skills test to be completed in person, while the ASHI does not.

Scroll to Top